Exceptional Children

(828) 682-6101 ext. 119

To apply download and save the application form before filling it out and sign the bottom of page 2 and page 4. Email the completed application to:


1-800-962-6817 |www.ecac-parentcenter.org |ecac@ecacmail.org

Exceptional Children’s Assistance Center| 907 Barra Row, Suite 103, Davidson, NC 28036

Project Child Find

NCDPI EC Division Child Find

What is Project Child Find

An effort coordinated by your local school system and the Exceptional Children Division, State Department of public Instruction, to:

  • Locate and identify children and youth ages birth through 21 with disabilities who are in need of special education and related services.

  • Inform parents and /or guardians of the services available from their local school system and other state and community agencies.

Who Are the Children?

Children and youth who have been diagnosed or are suspected to have intellectual, physical, or emotional disabilities and are unable to benefit from a regular school program without special assistance.

What Help is Available?

  • A complete evaluation and, if appropriate,

  • An Individualized Education Program for children with a disability beginning at age three,

  • An Individual Family Service Plan for each child with a disability birth through 2, or

  • A referral to other agencies when needed.

For further information regarding Child Find or if you suspect your student may have a disability and need special education and/or related services, please contact:

Margie Stebbeds, Exceptional Children's Director


828-682-6101 ext. 120

Parent Information

Parent Rights & Responsibilities in Special Education: NC Notice of Procedural Safeguards

This handbook is designed to support families with the understanding of the rights and responsibilities specific to the special education process. Acronyms and terms often used in special education and resources can be found in the appendices. If, at any time, you suspect your student may have a disability and is in need of special education and/or related services, you may request an evaluation, in writing, to your student’s school principal, teacher, or the Yancey County Schools Exceptional Children's Department.

North Carolina Department of Public Instruction Exceptional Children Division

The mission of the Exceptional Children Division is to ensure that students with disabilities develop intellectually, physically, emotionally, and vocationally through the provision of an appropriate individualized program in the least restrictive environment.

Multi-Tiered System of Support (MTSS) for Families

What is NC MTSS?

Family engagement within an MTSS is defined as the active and meaningful partnerships that educators build and maintain with students' families for the purpose of supporting student learning. It embodies the idea that all parties are equally invested in the student's educational experience and all parties bring knowledge and skills of equal value to the table to work together.

What is "support"?

NC schools that are implementing an MTSS may talk about support for students. To further define that support, NC organizes these supports around the instruction, the curriculum, and the environment.

Other Helpful Links

Autism Society of North Carolina

IDEA Website

Exceptional Children's Assistance Center

NC Policies Governing Services for Children with Disabilities

FIRST Resource Center

Medicaid-NC Division of Medical Assistance (NCDHHS)

National Center for Learning Disabilities

Special Olympics

Sensory Room Ideas

NHS Sensory Processing Hub

Ways to deal with common sensory issues

Other Resources

Our Mission is to ensure that students with disabilities develop mentally, physically, emotionally, and vocationally through appropriate individualized education in the least restrictive environment.

Margie Stebbeds - Exceptional Children's Director

828-682-6101 ext. 120


Cindy Barnett - Compliance/Data Manager

828-682-6101 ext. 119


Exceptional Children's Teachers

Blue Ridge Elementary School

Emily Harrison

Tracie Bartlett-Dover

Valerie Thomas - Extend 1 Classroom

Burnsville Elementary

Amy Autrey

Jessica Hobson

Rachel Lewis - Extend 1 Classroom

Cane River Middle School

Jacquie Fisher

Emily Harrison

Sasha Briggs - Extend 1 Classroom

East Yancey Middle School

Samantha Duncan

Michelle Geouge

Micaville Elementary

Angela Melton

Mountain Heritage High School

Angela Johnson

Misty Hall

Kevin Tipton

Shannon Anders

MacKenzie Proffitt - Extend 1 Classroom

South Toe Elementary

Julie McKinney

Related Services

Quincy Sparks - Behavioral Specialist

Lizzy Lundin - Physical Therapist

Wendy Gortney - Occupational Therapist

Sarra Cottle - Occupational Therapist

Lucille Painchaud - School Psychologist

Melanie Fender - Speech Therapist

Brianne McFee - Speech Therapist

Brenda Dula - Speech Therapist